The Star Wars Action Figure 2016 Memorial Tribute

The Star Wars Action Figure 2016 Memorial Tribute

Well, everyone didn’t die in 2016 in spite of what you may think.  Would you be stunned if I told you that as many acting Oscars were won by people who turned 100 this year as people who died this year?  (It’s true: Olivia de Havilland, who turned 100, won 2 Oscars, which matches the Oscars for the two people who died this year, George Kennedy and Patty Duke).  Though, sadly for me, my first childhood crush, Carrie Fisher died, as did Kenny Baker and Erik Bauersfeld (the voice of Admiral Ackbar).

This year actually started with Star Wars, not just because I was re-watching The Force Awakens in theaters every few days, but because I started the year’s posts with The Nighthawk Awards: 1977.  I finished with 1997, so I got through 20 years.  I also covered the years of 1948-1956 for Adapted Screenplay.  I did five more RCM posts, four of them timed to specific years with the Nighthawk Awards.  I did a For Love of Film series on Star Trek.  I did four more Great Read posts.  I also started publishing one of my novels, sleep now the angels, in parts on the post.

So, what will be upcoming on the blog?  Well, of course there will be the Year in Film and the Best Picture 2016 posts, but those will be much later this year and not immediately following the Oscars because I’m not pushing myself to see all the big films in the theater this year (my Top 5 films this year right now are a Star Wars film, a Wizarding World film and three Disney animated films, although, who knows, that may not change).  The next post, tomorrow (hopefully), will actually have to do with 2017 and those who are turning 80.  After that, I’ll get to the next Nighthawk Awards (1998), the next part of sleep now the angels and there will be a few lists (Top 100 Favorite Films, Top 10 Trailers and Teasers, FLOB: Tintin) that will be interspersed, along with the next Adapted Screenplay.  I have at least three Great Reads in the pipeline and one RCM written with others planned (I have a whole list of films to cover) that will also be slotted in when it works best.  The next For Love of Film series was going to start at the end of January, but I have pushed it off until the fall.  That may give a hint as to what it will be (and if you guess correctly, I will confirm).

In an attempt to slightly delay the oncoming end of the Nighthawk Awards (if I get through them at the same pace as I did this year, it would finish in 2017), I am starting a new series that will go up just before the Nighthawk Awards posts: The History of the Academy Awards: Best Animated Film.  It will function just like the Best Picture posts, with the exception that all of the information about Animated Films that have been appearing in the Nighthawk Awards posts will move to the Animated Films posts.

Depending on how I feel about finishing sleep now the angels, I may put up another novel, just because it has gotten me back into writing fiction and finishing what was started long ago.

So, that’s the plan.  The first post goes up tomorrow (hopefully).  Nighthawk Awards: 1998 will go up once I can get finished, after the holidays and houseguests.  Then will come the next part of sleep.  January 24 should see my annual bits of trivia regarding the Oscar nominations.  After that, it’s slotting in things around the ongoing Nighthawk Awards, Best Animated Film and Adapted Screenplay (which goes much more slowly because of how long it takes to read all the sources and write all the reviews).

Good night sweet princess

Good night sweet princess

