Yes, we went somewhere over the weekend.

Yes, we went somewhere over the weekend.

We managed to hit the first night of Zoolights at the National Zoo.

We managed to hit the first night of Zoolights at the National Zoo.

More astute readers may have noticed that it’s been a while since the last post.  Things keep getting in the way of finishing the Nighthawk Awards for 1956.  One of those things was that we decided to get out of our nightmare of an apartment for a few days and headed down south on I-95, braving all the snow (there really wasn’t much) and traffic (not too bad either).

Thomas got to play with his cousins.

Thomas got to play with his cousins.

And to visit places he'd never been to.

And to visit places he’d never been to.

For those of you who are friends with Veronica on Facebook, you already saw that I spent Thanksgiving with my sisters (for, what turned out to be, the first time in 23 years).  We also got to spend some time in the city itself, as is evidenced by the pictures.  It was a nice weekend, although I dropped my younger sister in Brooklyn on the return trip and I have to try to get the hipster feeling off me.

I hope, within the next few days to finish 1956 and get back to actually posting something.  But with short days (parent-teacher conferences) and work, we’ll see what happens.

Better than matching yellow turtlenecks (family joke).

Better than matching yellow turtlenecks (family joke).

