24 Tintin movies made to order!

24 Tintin movies made to order!

I write. That is what I do. And while I write my own material, there are certain stories that I would love to see end up on the big screen, and that I firmly believe can be done correctly. Just because a book is brilliant, doesn’t mean I think I can make it work on screen (I would never attempt Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Wind Up Bird Chronicle or One Hundred Years of Solitude). Here’s a sample of a few works that really need to become films and could easily be made into excellent films. I’ve had a list like this for years. Unfortunately for me, though fortunately for moviegoers, some of the items from previous lists have been made (Shawshank Redemption, Apt Pupil, the forthcoming Watchmen, which better not suck). Some of these might get made, others seem likely to never be made unless someone makes my script into a film. I’ve been waiting for some of these my entire life. Anyway, if you have any clout, give me a call. I can write the script. You just get it made.
Nostromo (Joseph Conrad)
David Lean intended to make it before he died, yet somehow no one has ever followed up on it. It could be a truly large scale epic.

The Tripods Trilogy (John Christopher)
Young adult books that I first saw serialized as a comic strip in “Boy’s Life,” they combine a dystopia with a post-apocalyptic setting throughout Europe with a great story. I understand they were made as a mini-series by the BBC, but the technology exists to make a first class feature film.

Scoop (Evelyn Waugh)
Several of his novels have been adapted through the years, but there’s been nothing done with this sly, extremely funny satire about reporters that made the Modern Library’s 100 Best Novels of the 20th Century list.

Eyes of the Dragon (Stephen King)
More easily adapted to the screen because he wrote it as a kids book for his daughter, it contains all the necessary elements of a good story, without being too dense or complex to make adaptation difficult.

Winesburg, Ohio (Sherwood Anderson)
The book that made me the kind of writer I am. There really is no reason why such an easily adaptable classic like this has never been filmed.

the best comic collection ever

the best comic collection ever

Daredevil: Born Again (Frank Miller)
Yes, they already made a Daredevil film, but it sucked. They threw out all the first Hulk film and have started over this year, so why not do Daredevil right? Do the best storyline, the best character development, and get a better cast. (and I love that Powell’s still has my staff recommendation for it when I left there almost five years ago)

The Things They Carried (Tim O’Brien)
Like Winesburg, the biggest influence on how I write. With the war still raging in multiple places in the Middle East, a strong Vietnam film would make a great allegory.

Confederacy of Dunces (John Kennedy Toole)
You would have to cast this correctly. You do it right, the script practically writes itself. Do it wrong and no amount of good filmmaking can save you.

the Tintin books by Herge (especially King Ottaker’s Spectre)
I know that Spielberg and Peter Jackson say they’re going to start making these, but since I’ve been waiting for a live action Tintin film all my life, I’ll treat them like Terry Gilliam films and believe them when I actually see them in the theater (especially since the budget just got rejected). Hmmm, since I didn’t see Tideland in the theater, then perhaps I can pretend it never happened.

Nova (Samuel Delaney)
One of countless reasons I should be thankful for Carol Mooney, my ninth grade English teacher. She talked me into doing Academic Decathlon, and I got to read this book. It is still one of my favorites, the technology is advanced enough now to do it justice, and it’s such a brilliant story.

