After heading into town to watch the Rolling Victory Parade of the World Champion Boston Celtics (17 titles – eat it Lakers fans! – that means you, family members), Thomas and I stopped to get something to eat at a little market / deli. After we had eaten and left, we got about twenty feet before I realized that Thomas had stolen an avocado. I walked him back in and had him put it back. Luckily, no one even noticed.

On to Best Supporting Actor – my top 10, once again, of alltime, listed chronologically.

1942 – Claude Rains as Captain Renault in Casablanca

“Major Strasser has been shot. Round up the usual suspects.”

1948 – Walter Huston as Howard in Treasure of the Sierra Madre

“I know what gold does to men’s souls.”

1951 – Karl Malden as Harold “Mitch” Mitchell in A Streetcar Named Desire

 

Malden with Vivian Leigh in A Streetcar Named Desire.

Malden with Vivian Leigh in A Streetcar Named Desire.

“No, you’re not clean enough to bring into the house with my mother.”

 

1972 – Al Pacino as Michael Corleone in The Godfather

“My father assured him either his signature or his brains would be on the release.”

1988 – Kevin Kline as Otto in A Fish Called Wanda

“Apes don’t read philosophy.”

1989 – Denzel Washington as Trip in Glory

“I ain’t fightin this war for you, sir.”

1993 – Ralph Fiennes as Amon Goeth in Schindler’s List

“I forgive you.” (possibly the most disturbing line in film history)

1994 – Martin Landau as Bela Lugosi in Ed Wood

Ed: Why are you buying a coffin, Mr Lugosi?”

Bela: Because I’m planning on dying soon.

1996 – William H Macy as Jerry Lundergaard in Fargo

“Right now! Darn tootin!”

2001 – Ian McKellen as Gandalf the Grey in The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

“I am a servant of the Secret Fire, wielder of the flame of Arnor. You cannot pass. The dark fire will not avail you, flame of Udun. Go back to the Shadow! You shall not pass!”

Huston, Malden, Kline, Washington and Landau all won the Oscar. The other five were all nominated. This was a harder one to do. I spent five minutes staring at the screen before I could bring myself to delete Gene Hackman in Unforgiven.

Streetcar will probably end up on all four acting lists. It truly is the pinnacle of film acting. But these 10 are all so diverse. We have cynicism (Rains), wisdom (Huston), naivety (Malden), not the mention the purest example of evil on screen (Fiennes). We also have the ultimate stupid person (Kline). And McKellen’s performance is the most brilliant when he doesn’t speak. He has several phenomenal reaction scenes (when Bilbo reaches for the Ring, when Frodo mentions there is writing, when he touches the Palantir, when Elrond refuses to let the Ring stay in Rivendell, when Frodo agrees to the take the Ring).

